Findlay named conference golf player of the year

Bianca Findlay
Bianca Findlay, 2019 ICCAC Women's Golf Player of the Year

The Iowa Community College Athletic Conference announced the 2019 Women's Golf Player and Coach of the Year and the All-Region Teams on Wednesday, May 1.

Southwestern's Bianca Findlay was named the 2019 ICCAC Women's Golf Player of the Year after finishing first at last week's Region XI Championship with a score of 275. The sophomore, who qualified for the NJCAA Women's Golf National Championship on May 13-16 in Daytona Beach, Florida, averaged a score of 82.5 this season. Findlay won five tournaments throughout 2019, including the last three she participated in. Findlay finished outside of the top-10 only one time this year. Findlay is also the 62nd ranked NJCAA golfer according to GolfStat.

Iowa Western's head coach Derrick Thompson was named the 2019 ICCAC Women's Golf Coach of the Year after he leading the Reivers to last week's Region XI Championship yet another year. The Reivers finished with a team score of 1,150, which was 55 strokes better than runner-up Iowa Lakes. The victory was the ninth straight regional title for Iowa Western.

On the course, Iowa Western led the way with three athletes earning First-Team honors.

Reiver sophomores Lisa Leid and Kim Park earned spots on the First-Team All-Region, along with freshman Emily Spies. These Reivers respectfully earned this award after their performances at the Region XI Championship. They all ended with scores in the top five; Leid (279), Spies (283) and Park (290).
Rounding out the 2019 All-Region First-Team honorees is Morgan Totsch from Southeastern. The sophomore finished fifth at the Region XI Championship with a total score of 297.

The All-Region Second-Team honorees include three from Iowa Lakes: Alexia Kemper, Abby Stender and Annika Dumoulin. As well as DMACC's Kylie Nichols and Iowa Western's Kassy Vest.

The All-Region Honorable Mentions include Alison Schweers (DMACC), Molly Diekman (Iowa Lakes), Erin Baum (Iowa Lakes), Marisa Weeks (Iowa Western) and Jordyn Barragy (NIACC).

First Team All-Region
Bianca Findlay, Southwestern, sophomore
Lisa Lied, Iowa Western, sophomore
Emily Spies, Iowa Western, freshman
Kim Park, Iowa Western, sophomore
Morgan Totsch, Southeastern, sophomore

Second Team All-Region
Alexia Kemper, Iowa Lakes, freshman
Abby Stender, Iowa Lakes, freshman
Annika Dumoulin, Iowa Lakes, sophomore
Kylie Nichols, DMACC, freshman
Kassy Vest, Iowa Western, freshman

Honorable Mention All-Region
Alison Schweers, DMACC, freshman
Molly Diekman, Iowa Lakes, sophomore
Marisa Weeks, Iowa Western, freshman
Erin Baum, Iowa Lakes, freshman
Jordyn Barragy, NIACC, freshman

Player of the Year: Bianca Findlay, Southwestern
Coach of the Year: Derrick Thompson, Iowa Western