Moya, Lair-Van Meter receive all-region honors

Madelyn Moya and Tina Lair-Van Meter were named to the Region XI Division II women's basketball All-Region teams.

Southwestern sophomores Madelyn Moya and Tina Lair-Van Meter were honored on the Region XI Division II women's basketball All-Region teams, which were announced Monday, March 11.

Moya, a 5-10 sophomore from Lansing, Kansas, was named to the second team. Moya paced the Spartans with 15.6 points per game to go with 6.8 rebounds per game. Moya shot 39.3 percent from the field and knocked down 40 3-pointers for the season, which ranked second on the team. She also shot 70.1 percent from the free throw line on a team-high 154 attempts.

Lair-Van Meter, a 6-0 sophomore from Coon Rapids, received third-team honors. Lair-Van Meter came up just short of averaging a double-double for the season. She ranked third on the team with 10.5 points per game and led the Spartans with 9.6 rebounds per game, which led the ICCAC. Her 1.1 blocks per game ranked second in the conference. Lair-Van Meter shot 44.5 percent from the floor and 63.8 percent from the free throw line for the season.

The all-region teams are selected by coaches vote, in which a coach votes on the nominees and cannot vote for his or her own players.

The full Region XI Division II women's basketball All-Region teams are listed below:

First team

Aliyah Robinson, DMACC, So.; Brittany West, Iowa Central, So.; Breanna Wendland, Iowa Lakes, Fr.; Shareece Smith, Iowa Lakes, Fr.; Anasha Hurst, Kirkwood, So.; Talia Paytiamo, Little Priest, So.; Mandy Willems, NIACC, Fr.; Jada Buford, NIACC, Fr.; Autam Mendez, NIACC, Fr.; Miah Shelby, Southeastern, So.

Second team

Grace Stalzer, DMACC, So.; Ellie Horn, DMACC, So.; Avery Terwilliger, Iowa Central, So.; Samantha Hagedorn, Iowa Lakes, Fr.; Haley Mullinix, Kirkwood, So.; Ju Gaston, Kirkwood, Fr.; Paige Bradford, Kirkwood, Fr.; Tahya Campbell, NIACC, So.; Andreisha Waller, Southeastern, So.; Madelyn Moya, Southwestern, So.

Third team

Asia Mena, DMACC, Fr.; Tayla Nulty, Ellsworth, So.; Meredith Lincoln, Ellsworth, So.; Shariah Smith, Iowa Central, So.; Safiyer Coleman, Iowa Lakes, Fr.; Mackenzie Jenkins, Kirkwood, SO.; Leah Robinson, Kirkwood, So.; Amaya Leon, Little Priest, Fr.; Kelcie Hale, NIACC, Fr.; Benedetta Murpurgo, Southeastern, So.; Tina Lair-Van Meter, Southwestern, So.

Coach of the Year: Todd Ciochetto, NIACC

Player of the Year: Mandy Willems, NIACC