72 Spartan student-athletes receive 2019 Spring Academic All-Region honors

The Iowa Community College Athletic Conference announced the Academic All-Region performers for the Spring of 2019. In total, 72 Southwestern student-athletes received honors either on the first or second teams.

First-Team performers received a 3.5 GPA or above, while Second-Team members earned between at 3.0 and a 3.49 GPA. Sports recognized include baseball, basketball, bowling, golf, softball, sports shooting, tennis, track and field, and wrestling.

Listed below are Spartan student-athletes along with the honors they received.

2019 Spring Academic All-Region

Basketball - Men

Beau Bailey - First team

Noah Persich - First team

Chad Moran - Second team

Basketball - Women

Jasmine Aviles - First team

Kayela Willis - First team

Tina Lair-Van Meter - Second team

Vanessa Romo - Second team

Kierra Brice - Second team

Golf - Men

Aric Szambelan - First team

Jesper Holke-Farnam - First team

Kyle Somers - First team

Oliver Pearson - First team

Reinhardt Saunderson - First team

Shaun Richards - First team

Patrick Coughlin - Second team

Golf - Women

Ashton Carter - First team

Katelyn Belding - First team

Bianca Findlay - Second team

Megan Fairchild - Second team


Aaron Allsup - First team

Aaron Schmitz - First team

Brendan Langloss - First team

Brian Soto - First team

Cade Cox - First team

Christopher Palomo - First team

Gianpaul Torres - First team

Ian Von Kessel - First team

Isaac Esquilin - First team

Luis Diaz - First team

Matthew Smith - First team

Michael Hart - First team

Quentin Sefrit - First team

Ronald Wigginton - First team

Ryan Doran - First team

Daniel Newbury - Second team

Frank Sanchez - Second team

Jadriel Pantoja - Second team

Jake Panich - Second team

Jalen Nicholson-Bourn - Second team

Jerry Velez - Second team

John Figueroa - Second team

Levi Avery - Second team

Marcus Daugherty - Second team

Robert Rodriguez - Second team


Ali Enright - First team

Cayla Maitlen - First team

Ella Rutherford - First team

Hannah Perez - First team

Heather Jessen - First team

Lindsay Rader - First team

Meghan Gould - First team

Kaitlyn Schad - Second team

Kelsey Tibbs - Second team

Klarissa McElroy - Second team

Makinna Fitzgerald - Second team

Sports Shooting

Casey Allen - First team

Jessica Aupperle - First team

Devin Meek - Second team

Dylan McDonald - Second team

Makayla Flora - Second team

Tyllar Roesener - Second team

Track and Field - Men

Austin Lundy - First team

Joshua Carstens - First team

Phillip Selmer - Second team

Shane Breheny - Second team

Troy Lewis - Second team

Track and Field - Women

Brianna Hoffman - First team

Catherine Rotich - First team

Danielle Costain - First team

Heather Jessen - First team

Jaida Claussen - First team

Payton Jellison - Second team